Where do dogs like to be pet?

Start with their side and back if they are an unfamiliar dog, not the head. Once they are familiar and comfortable with you, you can move to the neck area. If they are your dog, pet away and they will typically move to where they want petted, for example rolling over to have their belly rubbed.

---

Favorite spots often include behind the ears and their belly, but each dog is different. They will often show you where they would like to be pet by either pushing their head or face into your hand, or baring their belly to you.