Where do dogs like to be pet?

Start with their side and back if they are an unfamiliar dog, not the head. Once they are familiar and comfortable with you, you can move to the neck area. If they are your dog, pet away and they will typically move to where they want petted, for example rolling over to have their belly rubbed.