Who is mrs calabash?

Singer and comedian Jimmy Durante always signed off his radio show with the famous words, “Goodnight Mrs. Calabash, Wherever You Are”. He never explained his signature farewell, and speculations include an old girlfriend, his first wife, Jean Olson, or his team of writers who wanted a good closing.