How did the battle of lexington begin?

On April 19, 1775, the British marched into Lexington & Concord intending to suppress the possibility of rebellion by seizing weapons from the colonists. Instead, their actions sparked the first battle of the Revolutionary War. Defiantly, Massachusetts colonists outmanned and outfought the British.