What does it mean to be a commonwealth country?

The Commonwealth of Nations, referred to as the Commonwealth, is a political association of 56 member states, the vast majority of which are former territories of the British Empire. The Commonwealth dates back to the first half of the 20th century with the decolonization of the British Empire,