What's the difference between french vanilla and regular vanilla ice cream?

A smoother consistency & richer taste characterize the French vanilla flavor, whereas regular vanilla ice cream is plainer. French vanilla has its eggy base to thank for its thick, custardy taste, while regular vanilla relies on cream plus a vanilla flavoring that derives from the vanillin compound.