Do turkeys have beards?

A distinguishing feature of turkeys is the black fibrous hairs that hang down from the chest away from the body plumage. Biologists call those hairs beards. A turkey's beard can be long enough to touch the ground. Beards grow on all male turkeys or gobblers and grow on some hens.