How much dry ginger for fresh ginger?

The Cook's Thesaurus reports that 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger root is equal to one quarter teaspoon of ground ginger. At Food.com the recommended equivalent is 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger for one eighth teaspoon of ground ginger.