What is the function of insulin?

Insulin helps regulate blood sugar levels. After eating, carbohydrates break down into glucose sugar, the body's primary source of energy. Insulin allows glucose to enter cells to be used as energy and to maintain a balance of glucose found in the bloodstream within normal levels.