What happened to the scottsboro boys?

The Scottsboro Boys were 9 African American teenagers who were falsely accused of the rape of two white girls in Alabama in 1931. Their arrest and several trials have been studied extensively as examples of racism and the miscarriage of justice at that time. A musical has been made on this topic.