How do you know if a potato is old?

If a potato is soft to the touch or has tentacle-like roots growing out of it, it has likely been sitting around too long. If it has roots - you can plant it in the spring and it will generate new potatoes for you. Unless it is genetically modified, and then why would you want to eat it anyway?