How long do cold viruses last on surfaces?

Cold viruses can live on surfaces for up to seven days. Viruses live longer on hard surfaces such as plastic or metal longer than soft surfaces such as clothing or carpeting.

---

Cold viruses have been shown to survive on indoor surfaces for approximately seven days. Flu viruses, however, are active for only 24 hours. All viruses have the potential to live on hard surfaces, such as metal and plastic, longer than on fabrics and other soft surfaces.