Where did the saying in a coons age come from?

Coon’s age means a very long time. It is an Americanism that has fallen out of favor. Coon is slang for raccoon, coined in the mid-1700s. The term coon’s age was first used in the early 1800s and in fact, owes its origin to the folk belief that raccoons are long-lived.