How fast does a twenty two caliber bullet travel?

The speed of a .22 caliber bullet depends on many factors, including how much powder is in the cartridge and the length of the gun barrel. As an example, the muzzle velocity can be between 1,200 and 1,700 feet per second with an 18 inch rifle barrel.