Do elephants sleep standing up?

Elephants often sleep standing up, for two hours per day, lying down only every few nights. In mammals, REM sleep occurs only when muscles are relaxed. Since they can feel threatened when they are not standing up, they will usually only lay down to sleep.. away from roads or other public areas.