Is the speed of light absolute?

Yes and no. The Maximum speed of light is a constant in a vacuum and in that sense it is absolute. But light does slow down in transparent mediums such as water and glass. This is known as it's refractive index. Additionally, Nothing in the universe is faster than the speed of light.