Who is often known as the fifth beatle?

In the history of The Beatles, a number of people have been dubbed the "fifth Beatle." But only one of them has gone down in music history books as the unluckiest musician of all time. Pete Best played drums for the ensemble in its early days, but was kicked out just before they had their big break.