What are chains used for in minecraft?

Chains can be used to suspend bells or both types of lanterns (normal lanterns and soul lanterns), as the chain texture connects to the chain of the lantern seamlessly as if it were part of it. Chains do not require a supporting block to be placed whether it is on the top,next to it or at the bottom