Where does tri tip come from?

Tri-tip is the 1.5-2.5 pounds of meat that comes from the bottom (“tip”) of the sirloin. Its name comes from its triangle shape and the fact that it is at the very tip of the sirloin. It's rich in meaty flavor and lower in fat than other cuts.