What is the meaning of paramilitary?

The prefix "para-" means beside, alongside of, beyond, or aside from. Military means relating to or characteristic of soldiers or armed forces. So paramilitary would be aside from regular soldiers, (of an unofficial force) organized similarly to a military force.