How long does it take for muscles to recover?

That depends on what they're recovering from. If you mean "from exercise", in a healthy person, usually 6 to 36 hours, depending on the level of exertion, with proper hydration. Recovering from an injury however will depend on many other factors, like the nature of the injury and the patients health