What is a fair isle sweater?

Fair Isle is a traditional knitting technique used to create patterns with multiple colors. Traditional Fair Isle patterns have a limited palette of 5 or so colors, use only 2 colors per row, are worked in the round, and limit the length of a run of any particular color.