How was cereal invented?

The first cold cereal was invented by James Caleb Jackson in Dansville, New York, in 1863. He called it granula. It was made with bran and graham. The first packaged cold cereal was Kellogg's Corn Flakes. They were invented in the late 1800's and quickly became very popular.