Are whoopi goldberg children adopted?

Whoopi Goldberg has one child named Alex Martin. Alex Martin's dad is Alvin Martin, who was married to Whoopi Goldberg when Alex was born. Alex is a mother and grandmother, making Whoopi a great-grandmother.