When was the fire hydrant invented?

Underground fire hydrants have been used in Europe and Asia since at least the 18th century. Above-ground pillar-type hydrants are a 19th-century invention. the first cast iron ones patented in 1801 by Frederick Graff, then chief-engineer of the Philadelphia Water Works.