Is prosecco the same as champagne?

No, prosecco is not the same as champagne, however, they are both sparkling wines. Champagne comes from the Champagne region of France where it is produced under strict rules. Prosecco is made in Italy, from the Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia regions.

---

First things first, Champagne comes from the Champagne region in France, and Prosecco from Veneto in Northern Italy. Champagne can be a blend or single varietal wine made from Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier. Prosecco is made from the Glera grape variety.