Why do they call them grandfather clocks?

Grandfather clocks were called longcase clocks until a song was written about them in 1876. The song, called My Grandfather’s Clock, by Henry Clay Work was inspired by a clock in a hotel lobby and quickly became popular, and the longcase clock instead became known as a grandfather clock.