How do you trim a hydrangea bush?

Pruning hydrangea bushes is not necessary unless the shrubs have become overgrown or unsightly. You can safely remove spent blooms (deadhead) anytime. keep in mind for optimal results. Try to keep cuts above the first set of large leaves or only cut down to the last healthy buds.