What is the tri-state area?

The most prominent tri-state area is probably New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut, roughly corresponding to Greater New York City. But the term “tri-state area” is also used in other places where three states meet, such as Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana, in the Cincinnati area.