Is there a difference between a macaroon and a maccarone?

Yes, they are two different kinds of cookies. The macaroon is a chewy American coconut cookie. A maca-ron is a French cookie sandwich with two crispy meringue cookies with a thin filling between them. Maca-rons come in many colors and flavors.