What is the word diane mean?

Feminine given name probably derived from an Indo-European root word referring to the divine. It is the name of the Roman goddess Diana, the goddess of the hunt, forests and childbirth. The French form of the name is Diane. In Persian Diana means "supplier (messenger) of beneficence and wellness.