Where did the song john jacob jingleheimer schmidt come from?

"John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt" is a traditional children's song that originates from the United States of America. The song consists of one verse repeated over and over again while increasing in volume for each iteration, although there have also been versions where it also speeds up.