Where were t bags invented?

Packing tea in paper goes back to medieval 8th century China. The first modern tea bags in the Western World were hand-sewn fabric bags; tea bag patents date as early as 1903. The heat-sealed paper fiber tea bag was patented in 1930. The now common rectangular tea bag was not invented until 1944.