What is pepperoni?

Pepperoni is an American variety of salami, made from a cured mixture of pork and beef seasoned with paprika or other chili pepper. Pepperoni is characteristically soft, slightly smoky, and bright red in color. Thinly sliced pepperoni is a popular pizza topping in American pizzerias.