What is the gulag in warzone?

The gulag is prison where players who have been eliminated in the main game go. You fight an opponent who has also been killed in the main game. The winner gets sent back to the main warzone game, the loser is ejected. You only get sent to the gulag once. If you are killed again, your game is over.