What is the longest book?

Marcel Proust's "A La Recherche Du Temps Perdu" (translated as Remembrance of Things Past) is the world's longest novel, according to Guinness World Records. The 13-volume work contains 9,609,000 characters, with each letter and space counting as one character.

---

The longest novel is Artamène ou le Grand Cyrus, originally published (1649–54) in ten parts, each part in three volumes. Artamène is generally attributed to Madeleine de Scudéry. Compiling a list of longest novels yields different results depending on whether pages, words or characters are counted.