What does mug evolve into?

mug (n. 1) "small, cylindrical drinking vessel, often with a handle," 1560s, "bowl, pot, jug," of unknown origin, perhaps from Scandinavian (compare Swedish mugg "earthen cup, jug," Norwegian mugge "pitcher, open can for warm drinks"), or Low German mokke, mukke "mug,".