How many green beans are in a pound?

We found that 1 pound contains about 35 to 40 green beans which yields about 3 cups chopped, making a third of a pound purchase just about right for a 1 cup chopped green bean recipe. Remember when cooked, 1 cup of green beans will reduce in quantity by 2 to 3 tablespoons.