What's the hottest substance on earth?

The chamber in which aluminum was converted to "hot dense matter" via x-ray bombardment, physicists have heated matter to 3.6 million degrees Fahrenheit (2 million degrees Celsius)—making it briefly the hottest thing on Earth.