Does butter need to be kept in the refrigerator?

Butter is safe to keep outside the refrigerator if it is in an airtight container as prolonged exposure to air at room temperature will make it go rancid. For long-term storage, the refrigerator (or freezer) is a safer option.

---

Real butter that comes in blocks does not need refrigeration unless the temperature in the room is very high as it will melt. The "butter" that comes in plastic tubs needs refrigeration or it turns sour.