Why is sloppy joe called sloppy joe?

They probably got their start as a variation of the “loose meat" sandwiches that were popular at that time. ... According to legend, a cook named Joe at Floyd Angell's café in Sioux City, Iowa, added tomato sauce to his “loose meat" sandwiches and the “sloppy joe" sandwich was born.