What kind of bird is a kite?

Kite is the common name for certain birds of prey in the family Accipitridae. Typically, a kite is lightly built, with a small head, partly bare face, short beak, & long narrow wings and tail. Some kites eat insects; others are scavengers but also eat rodents & reptiles; and a few are snaileaters.