What's the difference between a mean and a gift?

A "mean" refers to an unkind, cruel, or hurtful method or action, while a "gift" is something given voluntarily and without payment, as a gesture of appreciation, love, or respect. A gift is intended to be generous, while a mean action is ungenerous and may cause harm to others.