What makes the moon look red?

Air molecules from Earth's atmosphere scatter out most of the blue light. The remaining light reflects onto the Moon's surface with a red glow, making it appear red in the night sky. The name "blood moon" is sometimes used for a Moon that appears reddish because of dust, smoke or haze in the sky.