What's an allspice seasoning?

Allspice is the dried unripened berry of the myrtle pepper tree, or pimento, which is native to Jamaica and Central America. The berries are briefly fermented, then sun-dried until brown. Often mistaken for a blend of spices, allspice is a single-ingredient seasoning with lots of unique flavor.