Do vanilla beans come from orchids?

Yes. Vanilla beans, or pods, are fruit of a variety of over 110 vanilla orchids. The most common vanilla orchid species is V. planifolia, or flat-leaved vanilla, and is native to Mexico and Central America. Pods are harvested when underripe, blanched, and sun dried to prepare for culinary use.