Who is the great gatsby by?

Frances Scott Fitzgerald. An American novelist, short story writer, and essayist. Though The Great Gatsby is his most widely known novel, he also wrote Tender is the Night, This Side of Paradise, and the book recently made into a movie, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.