What are electric sleep sheep?

Electric Sheep is a collaborative abstract artwork founded by Scott Draves. ... When these computers "sleep", the Electric Sheep comes on and the computers communicate with each other by the internet to share the work of creating morphing abstract animations known as "sheep".