What is the difference between fluid ounces and ounces?

Ounces are units of mass used for dry measurements or weight, whereas fluid ounces are units of volume or how much space something takes up and are used for liquids.

---

Fluid ounces measure volume and regular ounces measure weight. While one fluid ounce of water weighs very close to one ounce, that's not true for all liquids. For example, 1 fluid ounce of olive oil weighs less than 1 ounce, while 1 fluid ounce of molasses weighs more.