How many points are on a star?

Stars are big balls of gas, so they don't have points. However, when we look at stars, the diffraction of light can make them look spiky, or pointy. In drawing and imagery, humans have drawn stars most commonly with 5 points, although they may also be drawn with 4, 6, 7, 8 or more points.