What are the five stages of decomposition?

Five general stages are used to describe the process of decomposition in vertebrate animals: fresh, bloat, active decay, advanced decay, and dry or remains. The general stages of decomposition are coupled with two stages of chemical decomposition: autolysis and putrefaction.